International Foundation for Gender Education

# 10th Annual Convention "Minnesota Pride '96" Awards Banquet

Presenting The Virginia Prince Award The Trinity Awards The Partners in Diversity Awards The Transgender Tapestry Excellence in Media Awards Marriott City Center Hotel Ballroom 4 Saturday March 30, 1996

> Cocktails - 6 pm Dinner - 7pm Ceremony - 8pm

7:00 PM	Dinner	
7:45 PM	Opening Remarks	Jennifer Brown
8:00 PM	Imperial Sovereign Court of the Ice Castle	
8:15 PM	Transgender Tapest	ry Media Awards
	Presenter	Jean Marie Stine
	Recipient	Kevin McCollum, Producer
		Victor/Victoria: The Musical
8:45 PM	Partners in Diversit	y Awards
	Industry Presenter	Michelle Martin
	Industry Recipient	Bob Baker,
		Executive VP
		American Airlines
	Government Present	er Jane Fee
	Government Recipient	t Dolores Fridge,
		Deputy Commisioner
		Human Rights
		State of Minnesota
9:30 PM	Trinity Awards	
	Presenter	Alison Laing
	Recepient	Joan Sheldon
	Presenter	Shiela Kirk, MD
	Recipient	Sandra S. Cole, Ph.D.
	Presenter	Jennifer Brown
	Recipient	Jane Fee
10: 15 PM	Virginia Prince Lifetime Contribution Award	
	Presenter	Virginia Prince
	Presenter	Eve Burchert
	Recipient	Shiela Kirk, MD
10:45 PM	<b>Closing Comments</b>	Jennifer Brown
1		

### **About The Virginia Prince Award**

This award honors a member of the TG community who has dedicated their life to advancing public understanding and acceptance of TG nature and who have given courage, hope and guidance to so many among us. It honors leaders, founders and pioneers who have generated the energy and provided the inspiration to drive our community forward. It honors those sisters and brothers who have created our community's legacy.

**Previous Virginia Prince Lifetime Contribution Award Recipients** 

Virginia Prince 1987 Merissa Sherrill Lynn 1988 Ariadne Kane 1989 Sister May Elizabeth 1990 Betty Ann Lind 1991 Naomi Owens 1992 Carol Beecroft 1993 Ellen Summers 1994 Yvonne Cook-Riley 1995 1996 Sheila Kirk, MD

Dr. Sheila Kirk is a Board Certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology. She is also a member of the HBIGDA. Noted lecturer and researcher, she is a columnist for *Trangender Tapestry* and author of community bestsellers, *Hormones for the MTF* and *Hormones for the FTM*. In addition, Dr. Kirk currently heads IFGE's Office of Medical Liaison and Research.

Dr. Kirk has a distinguished record of service and dedication to the TG Community. Other awards and honors include: The Trinity Award, the Outreach/Fantasia Fair "Ms. Most Helpful" 1984, The Outreach Award 1986, "Ms. Best Dressed" 1988 and Ms. Fantasia Fair 1990 Dr. Kirk also serves on The IFGE Board of Directors and is a former board member of the Outreach Institute and TransPitt. She was a major force behind the annual Be All Conventions.

Dr. Kirk was one of our ambassadors at the first Euro Fantasia Fair and has participated in serveral Coronations of the Imperial Sovereign Court. Sheila was always there to lecture, hostess, MC, listen and help make every event a success and the participants grateful for her leadership and presence. Everyone fortunate enough to have spent time with her leaves having experienced the enormous generosity of her warmth, caring and love.

## **About The Trinity Awards**

Trinity Awards are presented at the annual IFGE convention. They are the TG Community's "Nobel Prize." It is to acknowledge our heroes and heroines, people who have performed extraordinary acts of love and courage. It's recipients can be community members or non-members, medical or mental health professionals, or even organizations and services.

#### **Previous Trinity Award Recipients**

1991

Mariette Pathy Allen, Stanley Biber, MD, The Boulton & Park Society, Yvonne Cook-Riley, Sheila Kirk MD, Ellen Summers 1991

The Be All Convention, Eve Burchert, Richard F. Docter, Ph.D., Wendi Danielle Pierce, Jennifer Richards, Janice Van Cleve 1993

1995

Holly Cross, Jane Ellen Fairfax, Phyllis Randolf Frye, Canon Clinton R. Jones, Peggy Rudd, Ed.D., Christina Young 1994

Marsha Botzer, Marilyn Irving, Ginny Knuth, Alison Laing, JoAnne Roberts, Wendy Parker 1995

Dallas Denny, James Green, Laura Caldewll, Leslie Feinberg, Sharon Ann Stuart, Linda Peacock

1996

Joan Sheldon, Sandra Cole, Ph.D., Jane Fee

#### About the Transgender Tapestry Editor's Choice Awards

The Transgender Tapestry Editor's Choice Awards were created this year to honor positive portrayals of the transgender community in mainstream media.

1996

Victor/Victoria: The Musical Julie Andrews (her portrayal of Victor/Victoria onscreen and stage) Star Trek Deep Space 9 (for Lt. Commander Jadzia Dax, the Alien symbiot who transitions back and forth across the gender line with each new body) To Wong Foo, Thanks for everything, Julie Newmar